2018’s 24 Heures Motos gets on its marks

2018’s 24 Heures Motos gets on its marks

30/01/2018 11:51

The 24 Heures Motos, the second round of the 2017-2018 FIM EWC, is slated to take place on 21 and 22 April on the Bugatti circuit at Le Mans. As of today, entries are open for this year’s race: the 41st edition.

A total of 60 machines will be allowed to line up on the starting grid of the 24 Heures Motos 2018 at 3pm on Saturday 21 April. The 33 teams under contract to race the FIM EWC (18 in the Formula EWC class, 15 in Superstock) are already entered for the second round of the 2017-2018 season, which kicked off with the Bol d’Or last September.

As of today, Automobile Club de l’Ouest, the organizer of the 24 Heures Motos, has started accepting entries for the remaining 27 grid spots at the Bugatti circuit in Le Mans. Teams must submit applications to participate to the ACO latest by midnight on Wednesday 7 March.

The race entry opening is expected to spark similar levels of enthusiasm to last year, when the organizers received 72 applications for the 60 available spots.

Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.