24 Heures Motos Qualifying flash: YART lands Le Mans EWC pole treble

2022-04-15T15:16:18+02:00April 15th, 2022|2022|

For the third year running YART – Yamaha Official Team EWC has claimed a sensational provisional pole position for the 24 Heures Motos, the 2022 FIM Endurance World Championship opener.

With qualifying results this season based on the average time of the fastest two riders from each team, rather than three previously, the laps of Karel Hanika and Marvin Fritz were used to determine which team lines up at the front for the start of the big race, which is scheduled to begin at 15h00 CET tomorrow (Saturday).

Hanika’s performance on the #7 Yamaha RZF-R1 stood out with the Czech the only rider to lap the 4.185-kilometre Circuit Bugatti in under 1m35s in a time of 1m34.878s. It also comfortably eclipsed Randy de Puniet’s previous Le Mans’ benchmark of 1m35.730s set on a Kawasaki in 2017. YART’s pole came despite Niccolò Canepa falling during the Red Rider session.

Yoshimura SERT Motul, the winner of the 24 Heures Motos last year and the defending EWC world champion team, qualified second ahead of F.C.C. TSR Honda France, BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team and ERC Endurance-Ducati. Wójcik Racing Team was the top Independent Trophy entrant in sixth followed by Team MOTO AIN, Webike SRC Kawasaki France, Viltaïs Racing Igol and Team 18 Sapeurs Pompiers CMS Motostore, which headed the Dunlop Superstock Trophy order ahead of National Motos in P12 behind Formula EWC squad Tati Team Beringer Racing.