2016-03-12T00:00:00+01:00March 12th, 2016|24 Heures Motos 2015|

The 39th edition of the 24 Heures Motos opens the season at Le Mans. From Thursday 7 April, the Bugatti circuit will start receiving the 58 teams involved. This first round of 2016 promises to be very open with the arrival of new machines and international riders and the first appearance of a top-class Japanese team at Le Mans.

The 24 Heures Motos is likely to be a thrilling race at all levels. From the side of the official works teams, the winner of the Le Mans 2015 edition and reigning FIM EWC championship title-holder, the Suzuki Endurance Racing team sets off with the same crew in quest of a 15th world crown. The SERT will have to battle it out with the GMT94 Yamaha which lines up with an entirely new international team comprising the Frenchman Louis Rossi, formerly Moto2, the Italian Niccolò Canepa, formerly the FIM World Superbike Championship, alongside the Spaniard David Checa. The Kawasaki SRC retains its trio of riders but returns with a new ZX-10R, which is likely to be high performance. The Penz13.com BMW Motorrad has enlisted the services of two French Endurance specialists, Mathieu Gines and Kenny Foray, to team with Lukas Pesek. Honda Racing starts with the same crew seeking a victory over 24 hours. Finally, Yamaha Austrian Racing Team wants to get revenge after a difficult year in 2015.

But the magic of the Endurance leaves a significant place open to private challengers such as the Bolliger Team Switzerland, on the podium of the 24 Hours Motorbikes in 2015, and to the best Superstock teams capable of aiming for a top 5 place such as the Team Traqueur Louit Moto 33, winner of the FIM World Cup 2015, the Junior Team Le Mans Sud Suzuki or the Tati Team Beaujolais Racing.

Japan is taking on the 24 Heures Motos challenge
The arrival of the F.C.C TSR Honda inserts a new variable into the equation for victory. Triple winner of the Suzuka 8 Hours and 2nd in the 2015 edition in Japan, the F.C.C. TSR Honda for the first time in the 24 Heures Motos will start with Japanese Kazuma Watanabe, Frenchman Alan Techer and the Australian Damian Cudlin. The bike will be equipped with Bridgestone tires. This association is capable of upsetting the current hierarchy on the Bugatti circuit.

EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy
Another new deal in the 2016 FIM EWC is that the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy is reserved for teams without the support of a manufacturer and which undertake to use Dunlop tires. Intended to support the effort of private teams which form a large part of the array at the FIM EWC championship, the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy is generously endowed with awards for finishing each event. At the 24 Heures Motos in Le Mans, €13,000 will be awarded to the winner. Prizes will be awarded to the first twenty finishers of the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy with an overall prize fund of €80,000 on the 24 Heures Motos.

 The first free practice sessions of the 24 Heures Motos will be held on Thursday, 7 April at 10 am. The start of the race takes place on Saturday 9 April at 3 pm on the Bugatti circuit at Le Mans.

24 Heures Motos Provisional Entry list