59 teams on the track at the Bol d’Or

59 teams on the track at the Bol d’Or

13/09/2017 21:53

The first official free practice session of the Bol d’Or, the opening round of the 2017-2018 FIM EWC, gets underway at 9.30am tomorrow (Thursday) on Castellet’s Paul Ricard circuit.

The 81st edition of the Bol d’Or will see 59 teams on the track. This opening 24-hour race will be the first face-off between reigning world champion GMT94 Yamaha and Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, back in the fray with the new GSX-R 1000. But they will have to reckon with YART Yamaha, second runner-up of the 2016-2017 FIM EWC after turning in a strong performance towards the end of the season. Two Honda squads – F.C.C. TSR Honda France and Honda Endurance Racing – are also serious contenders for the Formula EWC win.

Team SRC remains the top-billed Kawasaki, but the new-look Bolliger Team Switzerland is also in with a chance. Five teams will be flying the BMW flag, among them Völpker NRT48 Schubert Motors by ERC, which has moved up into Formula EWC and will have to battle tough rivals like Team Tecmas and Wepol BMW by Penz13.
The Bol d’Or will see new teams competing in the FIM EWC championship from start to finish.

In the Superstock category, Moto Ain CRT will launch into a renewed struggle with Tati Team Beaujolais Racing and AM Moto Racing Compétition, while Junior Team LMS Suzuki will also be vying for a win. Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences, winner of the 2016-2017 FIM EWC World Cup, will be racing one last time in the Superstock class before moving up into Formula EWC at the 24 Heures Motos in April. The new entries in this class too will be looking for their place in the sun.

Provisional list of teams competing in the Bol d’Or 

Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.