Bolliger awarded Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy at Oschersleben

2018-06-11T19:18:17+02:00June 11th, 2018|2017-2018, 8 Hours of Oschersleben 2018|

The Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy was awarded to Bolliger Team Switzerland in recognition of their determination to achieve a points-scoring finish at the 8 Hours of Oschersleben.

Hanspeter Bolliger, the Swiss team’s founder, was clearly very moved as he stepped on the podium at Oschersleben to receive the Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy at the end of a truly epic race in Germany.

Having qualified in 8th place on the grid, Kawasaki-mounted Bolliger Team Switzerland maintained that position in the early stages before their gearbox failed. From lapping with the leaders, they plummeted to last place 66 laps into the race. But the team refused to give up. Hanspeter and his mechanics worked frenziedly in the pit box to get the ZX-10R fixed. Thirty minutes later, Bolliger Team Switzerland were back on track, more than 20 laps behind the leader.

Unfazed by the huge gap, Roman Stamm, Robin Mulhauser and Sébastien Suchet got straight back into the fray. With no hope of securing a podium, their goal was to get past the chequered flag in a points-scoring position. They achieved their objective, finishing 20th at the 8 Hours of Oschersleben.

Together with Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, Bolliger Team Switzerland are the oldest team in the FIM EWC. Former rider, race bike builder and team manager Hanspeter Bolliger started out in Endurance in the 1980s.

More information on Bolliger Team Switzerland

The Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy is awarded to a rider or team who does something remarkable during the race: climbing back up the ranks, repairing a bike, helping a competitor, or accomplishing a collective or individual feat. The honorary award, decided by a jury and given out after every race in the FIM EWC championship, is intended to keep alive the sporting spirit and character of Anthony Delhalle, a great rider whose life was tragically cut short in March 2017.