12 Hours of Estoril 2021 - 15-17/07/2021

12 Hours of Estoril
17 July 2021

Circuito do Estoril
Located not far from the Portuguese capital Lisbon, the Estoril circuit was opened in 1972. Among the first high-profile international championships to be held here were the FIA car racing series: Formula Two and later Formula One. Following substantial renovation work, the circuit hosted a MotoGP race for the first time in 2000.

The FIM Endurance World Championship visited the circuit in 1987 for the Estoril 1000 km, and in 2000 for the 8 Hours of Estoril.

4,182 km in length, Estoril is regarded as a very technical track, with 13 corners including two hairpins, a 985-m straight and quite significant elevation change.

Circuit do Estoril: Key dates
16 June 1972: Inauguration of the track
1982: 1st FIA F2 championship race
1984: 1st FIA F1 championship race
10 May 1987: Estoril 1000 km (won by Suzuki Endurance Racing Team)
1993: Renovation of the grandstands, paddock and control tower
1997: Major improvement works to meet safety standards
1999: Reopening of the circuit
28 May 2000: 8 Hours of Estoril (won by Suzuki Endurance Racing Team)
3 September 2000: 1st MotoGP race (until 2012)

Motor Clube do Estoril
Avenida Alfredo César Torres, Lojas 1 e 3
Tel: +351 214606190

Information on the circuit
Length of the circuit: 4,182 km
Duration of the race: 12 hours
Records for an Endurance lap
In the race
1’39.270 - F.C.C. TSR Honda France - Mike di Meglio in 2020
In qualifications
1’38.447 – BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team – Markus Reiterberger in 2020
Winner 2020
YART Yamaha – Karel Hanika, Marvin Fritz & Niccolò Canepa. 421 laps