Suzuka 8 Hours 2022 - 04-07/08/2022

In 100 words: Operated by Honda-owned Mobilityland, Suzuka features a unique figure-of-eight layout and presents a considerable challenge for riders thanks to its wide variety of corners. Opened initially as a test track for the Japanese motor giant in 1962, the venue hosted the first edition of the famous Suzuka 8 Hours motorbike race in 1978, nine years before staging its first Japanese Formula One Grand Prix. The Suzuka 8 Hours has been a popular feature on the FIM EWC calendar and a key fixture on the international calendar since with leading grand prix motorcycle racers taking part – and winning – over the years.

Fast facts:
*The Suzuka 8 Hours is back on the FIM EWC calendar in 2022 having not taken place since 2019 due to the global health crisis.
*Americans Mike Baldwin and Wes Cooley won the inaugural Suzuka 8 Hours on 30 July 1978 on a Yoshimura Racing Suzuki.
*Japanese fans had to wait until 1982 for the first home victory when Shigeo Iijima and Shinji Hagiwara won for Honda.
*Although it was billed as an eight-hour race, the onset of a typhoon meant there were only six hours of racing.
*Other winners of the Suzuka 8 Hours include Wayne Rainey (1988), Eddie Lawson (1990) Mick Doohan (1991) and Valentino Rossi (2001).

7992 Ino-Cho, Suzuka-shi, Mie-ken 510-0295, Japan
Track length:
5.821 kilometres
Race distance:
8 hours
Kawasaki Team Green - Jonathan Rea
2m05.168s, 2018
Kawasaki Racing Team - Jonathan Rea
2m06.805s, 2019
Kawasaki Racing Team (Jonathan Rea, Leon Haslam, Toprak Razgatlioglu), 216 laps