2016-06-09T00:00:00+02:00June 9th, 2016|12 Hours of Portimão 2016|

F.C.C. TSR Honda clocked the best time during free practice at the 12 Horas de Portimão this morning – proof that the innovative Japanese team, which placed third at the 24 Heures Motos at Le Mans, has set its sights firmly on the 2016 FIM EWC championship title.

The serious business got underway at Portimão this morning with free practice: the final stage of preparation before qualifying starts this afternoon. On this new FIM EWC championship track, F.C.C. TSR Honda (Damian Cudlin, Kazuma Watanabe and Patrick Jacobsen) took everyone by surprise, clocking up a best lap time of 1’46.490 – more than a half-second ahead of Team SRC Kawasaki (Gregory Leblanc, Matthieu Lagrive and Fabien Foret) and the YART Yamaha Official EWC Team (Broc Parkes, Marvin Fritz and Ivan Silva).

Parkalgar Racing Team got off to a good fourth place start in free practice, but was slowed down by a major crash involving its star rider Miguel Oliveira, the 2015 Moto3 world championship runner-up. The Portuguese team is ahead of Suzuki Endurance Racing Team and GMT94 Yamaha.

In the Superstock class, Team 3Art Yam’Avenue emerged as the team to beat. The Superstock winner at Le Mans, the team leads Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences Team and Louit Moto 33 Traqueur in this category.

Follow the 12 Horas de Portimão on https://www.fimewc.com/live-timing

Free practices results