FIM EWC beckons speed racers

FIM EWC beckons speed racers

13/03/2017 11:59

Jules Cluzel will be on the starting grid at the 24 Heures Motos. This follows the arrival of Mike Di Meglio at GMT94 Yamaha, and the return of Randy de Puniet to Team SRC Kawasaki. MotoGP riders are increasingly swayed by the particular charm of the FIM EWC.

Jules Cluzel has given in to the siren call of Endurance. World Supersport vice-champion in 2016, 2014 and 2012 after seven Grand Prix seasons including some nifty feats in Moto2, Jules Cluzel is once again chasing the World Supersport title this year. But that won’t stop him giving Endurance a whirl for the very first time, at the 24 Heures Motos, aboard Team LMD63’s Yamaha Superstock. This team based in Clermont-Ferrand previously got it itself noticed by hiring Olympic pole vaulting champion Renaud Lavillénie to race the 24 Heures Motos in 2013 and 2014. Jules Cluzel will be teaming up with seasoned Endurance riders David Perret and Lucas de Carolis.

MotoGP and World Supersport
Jules Cluzel is the latest name on an ever-longer list of MotoGP riders attracted to Endurance racing. Back in November, GMT94 Yamaha announced the arrival of GP125 world champion Mike Di Meglio to replace Lucas Mahias – hired by factory team GRT Yamaha in World Supersport, where he is already making waves. Mike Di Meglio will be riding with David Checa and Niccolò Canepa.

Randy de Puniet will be on the starting grid again this year with Team SRC Kawasaki after his first outing on the factory-backed Kawasaki, which placed second at the 2016 Bol d’Or. The French MotoGP rider will once again team up with World Supersport champion Fabien Foret, a long-time convert to Endurance. Mathieu Gines will complete Team SRC.

The line-up at the start of the 24 Heures Motos – the second round of the FIM EWC 2016-2017 – will also include Alexis Masbou, former Moto3 rider and Superstock winner of the last Bol d’Or with Team Moto Ain. He will once again be riding alongside Hugo Clere. Moto Ain will also be hiring Swiss rider Robin Mulhauser, who previously rode in Moto2 and is racing the FIM Supersport world championship this season.

Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.