GMT94 Yamaha in pole position

GMT94 Yamaha in pole position

19/05/2017 14:08

GMT94 Yamaha will start from pole tomorrow (Saturday) at the 8 Hours of Oschersleben, the 3rd round of the FIM EWC 2016-2017, ahead of YART Yamaha Official EWC Team and Team LRP Poland.

GMT94 Yamaha reaffirmed its position as leader on the starting grid of the 8 Hours of Oschersleben. Together with David Checa and Mike Di Meglio, Niccolò Canepa was the hero of the day, posting a 1’26.872 lap – the best individual time of the two qualifying sessions, and the only one under the 1’27 mark.

GMT94 Yamaha took top spot on the starting grid, ahead of YART Yamaha Official EWC Team’s Broc Parkes, Marvin Fritz and Kohta Nozane. The Austrian Yamaha finished less than a half-second behind the French R1, which presages a fresh duel during the race. After two consecutive wins at the 8 Hours of Oschersleben, GMT94 Yamaha is obviously aiming for a hat-trick.

Third spot on the grid goes to the remarkable Team LRP Poland on BMW, with riders Markus Reiterberger, Lukas Trautmann and Dominik Vincon. They will be the challengers to watch in this race.

Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, in 4th place, is also be a strong contender. Vincent Philippe, Etienne Masson and Alex Cudlin will be able to draw on their solid experience during the race.

Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences goes on the offensive
After holding its fire yesterday, Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences went in all guns blazing on qualifying tyres today to wrest back control of the Superstock class. Bastien Mackels, Florian Alt and Axel Maurin took the Yamaha #333 to 5th spot on the starting grid, ahead of seasoned EWC squads like F.C.C. TSR Honda and Bolliger Team Switzerland. They also got the upper hand over two ambitious Superstock teams: Völpker NRT48 Schubert Motors by ERC and Moto Ain CRT.
Honda Endurance Racing will start the race from 10th place.

An eventful qualifying session
The timed Q2 witnessed a number of minor crashes in the ranks of the top teams. Mike Di Meglio (GMT94 Yamaha) took a spill, as did Marvin Fritz (YART Yamaha Official EWC Team), Lukas Trautmann (Team LRP Poland), Alex Cudlin (Suzuki Endurance Racing Team), Florian Alt (Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences) and Osamu Deguchi (Eva RT Webike Trick Star).

The riders will be back on the track in the morning tomorrow (Saturday) for the warm-up, starting from 9am CEST. The 8 Hours of Oschersleben will be flagged off at 2pm tomorrow, with a night finish at 10pm.

Overall qualifying results

Provisional starting grid

Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.