GMT94 Yamaha picks up medals at the FIM Awards

GMT94 Yamaha picks up medals at the FIM Awards

27/11/2017 18:23

Gold medals were handed out to the FIM EWC 2016-2017 endurance world champions in Andorra on Sunday 26 November at the FIM Awards, where prizes were given to the winners of all of last season’s FIM world championships.

GMT94 Yamaha, who were crowned FIM EWC 2016-2017 world champions after winning two previous world titles in 2004 and 2014, were in the limelight on Sunday evening in Andorra la Vella during the FIM Awards. Prizes were awarded to all the 2017 world champions during the ceremony.

Christophe Guyot, the GMT94 Yamaha team manager, accepted the world champion’s gold medal on behalf of the team, which emerged the winner following a thrilling season that wound up with a finale in Japan, at the Suzuka 8 Hours.

David Checa and Niccolò Canepa were the only two riders of the FIM EWC 2016-2017 world championship winning team to be given a medal. The French team’s third hero, Mike Di Meglio, joined GMT94 Yamaha at the 24 Heures Motos 2017, and had therefore not scored any points for the team during the opening round of the 2016-2017 season: the Bol d’Or 2016 on the Paul Ricard circuit.

GMT94 Yamaha and all three of its riders have already staked a solid claim to the FIM EWC 2017-2018 title by winning the Bol d’Or in September 2017.

2016-2017 FIM EWC final standings

Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.