Junior Team LMS Suzuki on Cup-seeking mission

Junior Team LMS Suzuki on Cup-seeking mission

25/01/2018 17:48

Junior Team Le Mans Sud Suzuki, the 2014 winner of the FIM EWC Superstock World Cup, is keen to make another stab at the top spot in this category, where the competition is proving particularly fierce in the 2017-2018 season.

The atypical squad is made up each year of a fresh set of trainee mechanics from Lycée Le Mans Sud, a vocational school. They are coached by their teacher Damien Saulnier, who is also their team manager. The squad has competed among the front runners in the Superstock class since the early 2000s.

Their third spot on the podium at the Bol d’Or, the first round of the 2017-2018 FIM EWC, has clearly given the team a boost. Junior Team Le Mans Sud Suzuki will be counting on a new-line up to go after the win at the 24 Heures Motos. Hugo Clère, who raced the Suzuki #72 at the Bol d’Or, will be sharing stints with former Moto2 rider Louis Rossi and Alex Sarrabayrouse, with Eddy Dupuy as substitute rider.

What’s more, Junior Team Le Mans Sud Suzuki is seriously considering a full-season entry to make a fresh stab at the FIM EWC World Cup. A poor result at the 24 Heures Motos would be the only deterrent to the squad’s ambitious goal.

So it looks like another formidable challenger will be wading into the Superstock pool, even as the 15 teams under contract in the 2017-2018 season continue to be locked in a fierce competition.

Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.