KRP Sanyo Kogyo & RS-Itoh wins EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy

KRP Sanyo Kogyo & RS-Itoh wins EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy

02/08/2017 17:39

One of the few Superstock teams on the Suzuka 8 Hours starting grid, KRP Sanyo Kogyo & RS-Itoh finished the race in 22nd place, coming in ahead of EWC teams Clever Wolf Racing & 3ART and HKC & IMT Racing to win the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy.

The undisputed leader of the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy right from the start, KRP Sanyo Kogyo & RS-Itoh lapped in and around 20th place throughout the race: a praiseworthy performance by the Japanese team competing in the Superstock class after starting from 37th spot on the grid and running the entire race with only two riders, Mitsunori Okamura and Takeshi Ishizuka. The KRP Sanyo Kogyo & RS-Itoh team won the €4,000 purse awarded to the winner of the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy at Suzuka.

They finished ahead of Clever Wolf Racing & 3ART. This Yamaha-mounted Japanese team had recruited two French endurance specialists to shore up their rider Mitsuo Saito: Alex Plancassagne, the 2016 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner, and Anthony Dos Santos, who raced for Maco Racing Team this past season. Clever Wolf Racing & 3ART finished 28th, having started from 42nd place at Suzuka, and received €3,000 in prize money.

HKC & IMT Racing rounded off the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy podium at the Suzuka 8 Hours. The Japanese team (Takaharu Kishida, Tadashi Asahina and Tomoki Namekata) on a Yamaha R1 finished 33rd at Suzuka and collected a €2,700 prize.

The EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy – renewed this season by FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events, the organizers of individual FIM EWC races and tyre manufacturer Dunlop – gives backing to Dunlop-shod private teams that do not benefit from direct support from a manufacturer.

Suzuka 8 Hours 2017 – EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy final standings




Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.