Moriwaki targeting a winning return

Moriwaki targeting a winning return

14/07/2017 09:26

Moriwaki Motul Racing posted the fastest time at the Suzuka three-day test. Returning to the fray after a nine-year absence, the Pirelli-mounted Honda team showed it is a serious contender for the Suzuka 8 Hours win.

With a 2’07.346 lap by Ryuichi Kiyonari, Moriwaki Motul Racing earned itself a place among the top contenders for victory at the Suzuka 8 Hours. Moriwaki’s last appearance at the Suzuka 8 Hours dates to 2008, when the team was 6th at the finish with riders Tatsuya Yamaguchi, Carl Crutchlow and Jason O’Halloran. Over the past decade, the Japanese squad has focused almost exclusively on developing its Moto2 machines. With support from Pirelli, Moriwaki Motul Racing is making a return to the Suzuka 8 Hours with four-time race winner Ryuichi Kiyonari, Yuki Takahashi, and Dan Linfoot. During the three-day test, they were faster than the other Honda-mounted favourite Musashi RT Harc-Pro (Takumi Takahashi, Takaaki Nakagami and Jack Miller), Yamaha Factory Racing Team (Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark) and another top-tier Honda squad, F.C.C. TSR Honda (Stefan Bradl, Dominique Aegerter and Randy de Puniet). Kawasaki Team Green and Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing were just behind the leader, but their focus was race simulation, not chasing the fastest time.

Of the contenders for the FIM EWC 2016-2017 world championship title, YART Yamaha Official EWC Team came off best with a 2’08.861 lap in testing, ahead of GMT94 Yamaha (2’10.882) and Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (2’11.811).

The first official Suzuka 8 Hours test session starts on Thursday 27 July.

Top 25 of the three-day Suzuka 8 Hours test
1- Moriwaki Motul Racing (Honda CBR1000 RR SP2/Pirelli) 2’07.346
2- Musashi RT Harc-Pro (Honda CBR1000 RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’07.592
3- Yamaha Factory Racing Team (Yamaha YZF R1/Bridgestone) 2’07.603
4- F.C.C. TSR Honda (Honda CBR1000 RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’07.700
5- Kawasaki Team Green (Kawasaki ZX-10RR/Bridgestone) 2’07.805
6- Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing (Suzuki GSX-R 1000/Bridgestone) 2’07.954
7- YART Yamaha Official EWC Team (Yamaha YZF R1/Bridgestone) 2’08.861
8- Honda Suzuka Racing Team (Honda CBR1000 RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’08.886
9- Team Kagayama (Suzuki GSX-R 1000/Dunlop) 2’09.032
10- Honda Dream Racing (Honda CBR1000RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’09.126
11- S-Pulse Dream Racing IAI (Suzuki GSX-R 1000/Bridgestone) 2’09.157
12- Team SuP Dream Honda (Honda CBR1000RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’09.242
13- Honda Dream RT Sakurai Honda (Honda CBR1000RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’09.521
14- MotoMap Supply FutureAccess (Suzuki GSX-R 1000/Bridgestone) 2’09.628
15- SatuHATI Honda Team Asia (Honda CBR1000RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’09.721
16- Team JP DFR & RS-Itoh (Kawasaki ZX-10RR/Dunlop) 2’10.142
17- BMW Motorrad39 (BMW S1000RR/Bridgestone) 2’10.567
18- EVA RT Webike Trick Star (Kawasaki ZX-10R/Dunlop) 2’10.705
19- GMT94 Yamaha (Yamaha YZF R1/Dunlop) 2’10.882
20- au & Teluru-Kohara RT (Honda CBR1000RR SP2/Dunlop) 2’10.967
21- Mistresa with ATJ Racing (Honda CBR1000RR SP2/Bridgestone) 2’11.095
22- Titanium Power Hooters Racing (Yamaha YZF R1/Bridgestone) 2’11.291
23- ITO Racing GMD & Redgriffin (Yamaha YZF R1/Bridgestone) 2’11.318
24- Akeno Speed Yamaha (Yamaha YZF R1/Bridgestone) 2’11.750
25- Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (Suzuki GSX-R 1000/Dunlop) 2’11.811


Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.