Moto Ain CRT wins EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy

2016-09-19T00:00:00+02:00September 19th, 2016|Bol d'Or 2016-2017, Independents|

Moto Ain CRT turned in a fantastic performance at the just-concluded Bol d’Or, the opening round of both the FIM EWC 2016/2017 championship and Season 2 of the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy. Sixth past the finish line at the Bol d’Or and winner of the Superstock class, Moto Ain CRT also carried off the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy, earning €5,000 in prize money. The team finished ahead of Tati Team Beaujolais Racing and Völpker NRT48 Schubert Motors.

Moto Ain CRT took everyone by surprise, firstly by recruiting Moto3 rider Alexis Masbou to race his first Bol d’Or and then by steadily advancing, as the hours went by, from 31st on the starting grid to 6th at the finish. Riders Hugo Clere, Alexis Masbou and Johan Nigon ran a flawless race in the saddle of Moto Ain CRT’s Dunlop-shod Yamaha, finishing right behind the top teams.

Starting from 15th on the grid, Tati Team Beaujolais Racing led the Superstock class and was the top EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy contender early in the race, but Julien Enjolras, Dylan Buisson and Anthony Violland were subsequently slowed down by a seized wheel axle. Tati Team Beaujolais Racing finished seventh, netting itself a €4,200 EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy prize and a 2nd place in Superstock at the Bol d’Or.

Völpker NRT48 Schubert Motors rounded off the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy podium at the Bol d’Or, earning €3,700 in prize money. Florian Galotte, Christopher Kemmer and Christof Höfer rode the German team’s BMW, which finished 10th overall at the Bol d’Or.

The other teams awarded a prize purse at the Bol d’Or were Racing Team Sarazin, RAC 41, Cottard Moto, Zuff Racing Team, Girls Racing Team, TipTopTeam 56 and ARTEC.

Renewed this year by FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events, the organisers of each FIM EWC world championship race and tyre manufacturer Dunlop, the EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy supports private teams using Dunlop tyres that do not get direct backing from a manufacturer.

Bol d’Or 2016 – EWC Dunlop Independent Trophy standings

1 96 MOTO AIN CRT FRA Yamaha YZF-R1 SST 5 000 €
2 4 Tati Team Beaujolais Racing FRA Kawasaki ZX 10R SST 4 200 €
3 48 Völpker NRT48 by Schubert-Motors GER BMW S1000RR SST 3 700 €
4 66 Racing Team Sarazin FRA Kawasaki ZX 10R SST 3 200 €
5 41 RAC 41 CBO FRA Honda CB R1000 R EWC 2 800 €
6 76 Cottard Motosport FRA Suzuki GSXR-1000 EWC 2 200 €
7 26 Zuff Racing Team SUI Honda CB R1000 RRSP SST 2 000 €
8 19 GIRLS RACING TEAM FRA Yamaha YZF-R1 SST 1 400 €
9 6 TIPTOPTEAM 56 FRA Kawasaki ZX 10R EWC 1 250 €
10 199 ARTEC FRA Kawasaki ZX 10R SST 750 €