Triumph and upheaval for the Yamaha teams

2016-08-25T00:00:00+02:00August 25th, 2016|8 Hours of Oschersleben 2016|

YART Yamaha Official EWC Team dominated free practice at Oschersleben this morning, ahead of Team Rabid Transit and GMT94 Yamaha. Völpker NRT48 Schubert Motors, the current Superstock leader, placed 4th.

The YART Yamaha Official EWC Team – Broc Parkes, Marvin Fritz and Bradley Smith – posted a 1’26.489 fastest lap, but Bradley Smith’s crash was the shock of the session. The Moto GP Monster Yamaha Tech3 rider, who’d come to shore up YART Yamaha Official EWC Team’s bid to win the FIM EWC 2016, is currently in hospital at Magdeburg.

The YART-supported Team Rabid Transit with riders Sheridan Morais, Ivan Silva and Brandon Cretu clocked the second-best performance of the morning with a 1’26.917 lap. These were the only two teams to lap under the 2’17 mark. A third R1 – the GMT94 Yamaha bike – finished third after free practice, with David Checa, Niccolò Canepa and Lucas Mahias in the saddle.

In Superstock, Völpker NRT48 Schubert Motors, currently heading the World Cup standings, made its ambitions clear by placing 4th. The team’s Superstock BMW came in ahead of BMW Motorrad, who have recruited Matthieu Lussiana to replace the injured Mathieu Gines alongside Kenny Foray and Lukas Pesek.

Free practice provided an opportunity for last-minute bike set-up tweaks for the teams chasing the FIM EWC 2016: SRC Kawasaki, Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, Team April Moto Motors Events, F.C.C. TSR Honda and Honda Endurance Racing. Team Bolliger, which often shines at Oschersleben, is also among the pack of potential winners.

The first qualifying is taking place this afternoon.

Free practice results