Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing reveals its ambitions

Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing reveals its ambitions

08/07/2017 10:38

Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing was quickest at the first two days of factory testing at Suzuka this week, posting a 2’07.232 fastest lap to top the timesheets ahead of Musashi RT Harc-Pro and Kawasaki Team Green.

Armed with its GSX-R 1000 2017, Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing showed its determination to go after the Suzuka 8 Hours win that has eluded the team since 2009. Takuya Tsuda posted a promising fastest lap of 2’07.232, with Sylvain Guintoli, who is gearing up to compete at Suzuka for the first time, close behind. Another team in great shape at the first tests was Musashi RT Harc-Pro (2’08.023), which has entrusted its Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2 to Takumi Takahashi, Takaaki Nakagami and Jack Miller (the MotoGP rider is making his Suzuka 8 Hours debut). Musashi RT Harc-Pro, the Suzuka 8 Hours winner in 2010, 2013 and 2014, placed ahead of Kawaski Team Green, YART Yamaha Official EWC Team and F.C.C. TSR Honda.

All the squads targeting a win at the 40th anniversary of the Suzuka 8 Hours, the 2016-2017 FIM EWC final round, will be on the track during the official tests from 11-13 July. Fans are impatient to watch Yamaha Factory Racing Team, winner of the past two editions, clash with Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, which is hoping to notch up another world title, and GMT94 Yamaha, currently well-placed to combat SERT for the 2017 title.

Top 12 after tests – Suzuka, 5 & 6 July
Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing (Suzuki GSX-R 1000) 2’07.232
Musashi RT Harc-Pro (Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2) 2’08.023
Kawasaki Team Green (Kawasaki ZX-10RR) 2’08.352
YART Yamaha Official EWC Team (Yamaha YZF R1) 2’08.795
F.C.C. TSR Honda (Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2) 2’08.811
Honda Dream RT Sakurai Honda (Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2) 2’08.938
Team Kagayama (Suzuki GSX-R 1000) 2’09.177
Honda Suzuka Racing Team (Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2) 2’09.410
S-Pulse Dream Racing (Suzuki GSX-R 1000) 2’09.661
Honda Dream Racing (Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2) 2’10.388
SatuHATI Honda Team Asia (Honda CBR 1000 RR SP2) 2’10.742
EVA RT Webike Trick Star (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 2’10.749


Italian team No Limits Motor Team has strengthened its rider line-up to take another shot at the Superstock podium. Michael Mazzina, Luca Scassa and Christian Gamarino will be riding the Suzuki #44.

The Endurance world championship is spreading its wings in Italy. FIM EWC promoter Eurosport Events has just signed a broadcast rights agreement with and AutomotoTV.

Last season’s FIM EWC Superstock World Cup winner Yamaha Viltaïs Experiences will be fielding a new team at the 24 Heures Motos.

Moto Ain CRT has put together a strong rider line-up to go after the 2017 FIM EWC Superstock World Cup. Roberto Rolfo, a former 250cc GP runner-up, will shore up Alexis Masbou and Christoffer Bergman on the Yamaha #96.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France is hard at work preparing for the 24 Heures Motos. The Japanese team completed a test on the Okayama circuit, and used the opportunity to show off the new livery of the Honda CBR 1000 RR 2018.

Yamaha Factory has presented its 2018 teams. While GMT94 Yamaha will continue the season with the squad that won the Bol d’Or, YART Yamaha has announced a fresh rider line-up starting from the 24 Heures Motos.