Yoshimura Suzuki receives Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy

2017-08-03T00:00:00+02:00August 3rd, 2017|Suzuka 8 Hours 2017|

Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing kept up the fight for the entire 8 hours. After starting a climb back up from the bottom of the standings in the wake of a crash, the Japanese Suzuki team was 7th past the chequered flag at the Suzuka 8 Hours.

As the 2007 and 2009 race winner, Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing was among the favourites to win this year’s Suzuka 8 Hours. Having placed 2nd on the starting grid after qualifying thanks to a 2’06.282 lap by Takuya Tsuda in the Top 10 Trial, the Japanese Suzuki team (Tsuda, together with Sylvain Guintoli and Josh Brookes) looked all set to battle it out at the front end of the race.

But Tsuda crashed on the 2nd lap and the Suzuki #12 nosedived to the bottom of the standings, shaking up the rankings. The minute they were back on the track, Takuya Tsuda, Sylvain Guintoli and Josh Brookes began to fight a solitary battle against the 67 other teams, climbing back up lap after lap without ever giving up.

Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing finished in 7th place – the 1st Suzuki past the finish line, close behind YART Yamaha Official EWC Team and Honda Dream Racing and only 4 laps behind the race winner Yamaha Factory Racing Team.

In a tribute to their heroic performance, FIM EWC promoter François Ribeiro handed Yohei Kato, the team manager of Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing, the Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy.